Southwestern's Osgood Named Finalist For Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year Award

Southwestern's Osgood Named Finalist For Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year Award

(Story courtesy of the Southwestern University Sports Information Department)

NORMAN, Okla. -- Southwestern University Pirates men's golfer Cade Osgood is one of five finalists for the 2020 NCAA Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced on Thursday.

"I have a special place in my heart for this award, and it's always been a highlight for us at the Memorial Tournament when we have the opportunity to recognize these young men," Nicklaus said in a press release sent by the GCAA. "Like so many student-athletes around the world, these golfers have been stripped of competition, championships, and other moments to create lasting memories. I am delighted to see that the GCAA and have worked to keep this well-deserved honor moving forward.

This is Osgood's second time finishing as a finalist for the award, earning the honor following the 2017-18 season in which he put together a 73.3 scoring average, finishing as the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Championships medalist and SCAC Golfer of the Year. 

Osgood put together a 71.6 scoring average this season, setting a school record and earning First Team All-American honors for the second time in his career. It was Osgood's third All-American selection overall after being named Second Team All-American in the 2018-19 season. He leaves Southwestern with the best scoring average in school history at 73.44 through 84 rounds. 

Next season, Osgood will utilize his restored year of eligibility as a graduate transfer on the NCAA Division I Abilene Christian University men's golf team. 

Other NCAA Division III Finalists include Emmet Herb of St. Thomas (MN), Jason Li of Carnegie Mellon, Drew Mathers of Huntingdon, and Rob Wuethrich of Illinois Wesleyan. The recipients of the award will be announced during the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide, scheduled July 13-19.