Five Programs Earn SCAC Team Sportsmanship Awards

Five Programs Earn SCAC Team Sportsmanship Awards

LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. - Five Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference programs were recognized by the league as the 2017-18 Winter Sportsmanship Teams in their respective sports.

The SCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee instituted the award prior to the 2016-17 academic year in an effort to honor the team that best portrays good sportsmanship and fair play from the players and coaches during the season. The winter awards are presented in men's and women's basketball and men's and women's swimming and diving.

McMurry University was recognized in swimming and diving again, capturing both the men's and women's award this year, after sharing the women's honors last year with Southwestern University. Southwestern repeated as the winner of the men's basketball award, while Colorado College did the same on the women's side, sharing the honor with Texas Lutheran this year.

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference 2017-18 Winter Team Sportsmanship Award
Men's Basketball: Southwestern University
Women's Basketball: Colorado College; Texas Lutheran University
Men's Swimming & Diving: McMurry University
Women's Swimming & Diving: McMurry University

The awards were voted on by each member institution's SAAC, with each individual group ranking the top three teams in each sport. The first place selections were awarded five points, second place earned three points and third place earned one point. Points were then totaled to select the conference's overall winner.

SCAC Basketball Media Days
November 14, 2017 SCAC Basketball Media Days